Thank You God for Brendi Michaela Brown.

IMG_5464

Thank you God for blessing me by putting Brendi Michaela Brown in my life as my roommate at Oklahoma Christian this year. I thank you for this because even after nearly six months of living together we still have yet to have any issue or serious disagreements as other girls in our dorm have. She is so very sweet and kind to all she meets and it is genuinely inspiring to me. The extrovert she is makes me want to break out of my introverted ways, one little baby step at a time.  I am thankful for the relaxed persona you have instilled in her. I cannot express gratitude enough for letting her be someone who I can confide the depths of my heart to.  I also thank you that she is the kind of person who I can be just myself around and not feel like I have to tone myself down to be acceptable to her.

20141204_211159

I thank you that she is a heavy sleeper, because lets be quite honest, I am not the most silent of people when I am still wide awake at one in the morning and well she isn’t awake at that time. I’m thankful for the numerous hours I am able to spend with her. Whether it be in chapel, at meals, in the room, or just talking. I’m grateful for her taste and appreciation of music. This makes it so much easier for me as I listen to music on a frequent basis and appreciate the fact that she has made me branch out within my own musical choices over this time. God, I appreciate your sense of humor in placing me with a roommate who shares the same name as my little sister. It makes it very entertaining to tell people that I am at college with Michaela, even though it obviously is not my sister.

IMG_8347-1

I thank you for the lighthearted banter and spirit you let our dorm have. It makes it such a welcoming and inviting place for our friends to gather and be with us. I appreciate that you have changed my heart and let me not be so scared to be myself, especially around Michaela, as this has been a struggle for me over the years as I set barriers to protect others from ever genuinely getting to know the true me. I thank you for the fact that I can joke around and not have to feel like I am required to be so serious all the time in her presence. Thank you for letting her being my counterpart. I am glad that we get along as well as we do. It has made this incredibly tough transition from being a kid into an adult so much easier. It has not been the easiest of years for me. Actually it has been perhaps one of the hardest years I have yet to experience and she has been there for me to talk to through all of it.

1417490687353

I thank you for the all the experience we have shared. There is too many of them to name all of them. From my first time having a honey butter chicken biscuit at Whataburger to taking her to see the infamous turtle races in Ames on move in day. I am grateful for the trust in me she has placed. From trusting me enough to ride with my family and I on the first day we met to an unfamiliar place for her to spend an entire weekend with strangers to allowing me to wear her clothes as I decide to. I love seeing the passion and drive she has for softball even though it absorbs and requires a fair share of her time. I cannot wait to see her in their season upcoming. I thank you for the way she has a determination to do just what she wants and is not wishy washy. I thank you for the considerate soul she is. I am grateful for the lefty she is, as I would miss having a lefty in my life without being around my dad. Thank you for letting us have the same issue of when we both genuinely smile you can no longer see either of our eyes.

20150125_221850

Lord, there are so many things I can thank you for about and regarding Michaela but I am most grateful just purely for the fact that you have placed her in my life. She has honestly become the best friend, sister, mom, wife, child, etc. I have ever had. I can confide in her and that is something I can’t say about many people. I thank you for the goofball she is, but I also thank you for the serious confidant she is in my life. I pray that you continue to work in both of our lives and continue to give us cohesive union as roommates as there is still plenty of this semester left ahead of us. May it be your will I hope you will continue to use us as you desire within one another’s lives. I also ask that you continue to allow us to be roommates with each other for the longevity of college.

Dear God, thank you for Brendi Michaela Brown.

Leave a comment